Contents area

Explanation of the danger levels

The 5 danger levels
Symbol Danger level (colour)
Level 5 (dark red)
Very high danger
Level 4 (red)
High danger
Level 3 (orange)
Considerable danger
Level 2 (yellow)
Moderate danger
Level 1 (green) No or minor danger

The hazard categories numbered 1 to 5 have been determined by the specialist government bodies for natural hazards. Prevailing circumstances are outlined in terms of their potential dangers and their impact on society for each individual category within the various natural hazard types. Whilst the definitions have been made as similar as possible for the same hazard category numbers across the different natural hazards, it is, of course, not possible to make direct comparisons between them. Detailed explanations of the hazard categories for each natural hazard can be found in the menu on the left-hand side of this page.